Forums
back to main | back to forum | view rules | page: 1 2
Vegan Alcohol
simon Posted at 2006/04/16 11:46pm reply to

simon
Posts: 335
message
>Woohoo!  Whole Foods carries almost all the Samuel Smith's beerz.  I haven't looked elsewhere but I'm sure other natural food stores do too!  

wheatsville carries some, if not most, but they're limited by space. you can special order pretty much any beer from them if you buy a case minimum. shane is their beer guy. or johnny, the floor manager knows a lot about the beer too. he's one of the folks who've started the member owned co-op bar, the black star pub
chrisB Posted at 2006/04/17 5:42pm reply to

chrisB
Posts: 238
message
Lagunitas microbrewery all the way! best beer ever. excited
pemagetchel Posted at 2006/04/17 11:32pm reply to

pemagetchel
Posts: 12
message
I have to 100% agree.I love thier Amber Ale.I went to the brewery a couple of times the people there are great.
erick Posted at 2006/05/23 9:44am reply to

erick
Posts: 208
message
I emailed another local brewer, the Independence Brewing Co. Their response was more elaborate than the others I've received. They use gelatin the their brewing process, but it's filtered out of the beer before it's bottled. Their complete response if below:

We use all malted barley, water, hops and yeast in the brewing process.
After the beer finishes fermenting, during the aging process, we add a
gelatin to help the suspended yeast settle out of the beer prior to
filtering the beer. The gelatin is typically derived from animal hoof or
horn. This ingredient is filtered out of the beer. We filter our beers very
finely - I hope this isn't too technical, but we filter our beers to 2
microns, and the gelatin molecules are much larger (5-10 microns), so this
ingredient comes out during filtration.

I know it's frustrating for vegans who want good beer. Unfortunately, it's
difficult to run filters without using gelatin. Even unfiltered beers
typically use gelatin or other clarifiers to help settle out proteins, yeast
and other particulates that would leave the beer too "chewy".

I hope this info helps.

Amy Cartwright
Independence Brewing Co.
Gabriel Posted at 2006/05/23 11:28am reply to

Gabriel
Posts: 833
message
Guinness also makes the claim that isinglass (fish bladder gelatin) is not in their final product.  It seems that they have totally missed the point.  Even if it were the case that the ingredient did not end up in the final product (and I question it), we definitely care about the process.  That's why we avoid animal products to begin with.  There are brewers that use no animal products, so it is possible to produce a good beer without using gelatin or other animal garbage.  

>>>>>>I emailed another local brewer, the Independence Brewing Co. Their response was more elaborate than the others I've received. They use gelatin the their brewing process, but it's filtered out of the beer before it's bottled. >>>>>>>>>>
rev up Posted at 2007/12/23 5:13pm reply to

rev up
Posts: 15
message
Hey everyone!

I realize this is an old thread but it's all new to me as I just moved here happy  I'm with Kaylawayla & Simon in that I love just about everything Samuel Smith produces & they're always a safe bet.  They deserve credit for being among the first breweries to explicitly state that their beers were vegan & their stateside distributor - Merchant du Vin - should be commended for doing such as well.

Vide this: http://www.merchantduvin.com/pages/5_breweries/samsmith.html

I recall last holiday season when Samuel Smith had a holiday four pack with those vegan "V"s stamped on them!  That's real progress!

To dump more lists on y'all:
http://www.gonchong.co.uk/vegbeer.html

Cheers,
Christopher
Post a comment
page: 1 2
0 users logged in: