Forums
back to main | back to forum | view rules
Hopdoddy's burgers
celeste Posted at 2011/07/02 12:46am reply to

celeste
Posts: 40
message
    Howdy vegans. This morning I met the kitchen manager at Hopdoddy's, which is that new-ish burger place on South Congress (where Cissi's Market used to be). Her name is Chili and she was really cool and told me that their "Janis Joplin" veggie burger ( when ordered with no cheese) is vegan, including the bun. They make the burgers, the bun, the fries, and even the ketchup themselves.
    They also sell their day-old buns in bags of 8 for $1.99, which is about the same price for Rainbo or whatever type of hamburger bun happens to be vegan at HEB.
   I like the veggie burger there, but I just wish there wasn't always a line out the door to order one!
  
Jessica. Posted at 2011/07/02 1:11am reply to

Jessica.
Posts: 446
message
I've had the Janis burger before, and it was pretty good, although it tasted like it had a tablespoon of rosemary in it. Maybe it was just that day, and I do like rosemary, but it was a little overwhelming. I love that it's a homemade burger and not a frozen Morningstar or Amy's. Their fries and chipotle ketchup are amazing. Glad to hear about the buns, that's pretty cool that they sell the day-olds.
Ross Posted at 2011/07/02 9:44am reply to

Ross
Posts: 4574
message
That's awesome that they make their own buns. Thanks for the heads up, Celeste!
mollyjade Posted at 2011/07/02 10:02am reply to

mollyjade
Posts: 447
message
Someone was just telling me they have the best vegan burger in town.
SorryCharlie Posted at 2011/07/08 12:16am reply to

SorryCharlie
Posts: 73
message
One of my family friends is a co-owner there, some of the same people who also own and operate Moonshine, he is a great guy and the head chef as well. I know for sure that they make everything in-house, and are knowledgable about what is and isn't vegan. Personally, I like the taste of the Janis Joplin, but I'm not wild about how squishy the patty is, just a texture thing for me, but the excellent flavor and reeeeally tasty bun helps me overlook the texture,   hahaha.
Pandi Posted at 2011/08/21 7:39am reply to

Pandi
Posts: 155
message
Do you know if the Janis cooked on the same grill as the regular meat burgers?
alexajew Posted at 2011/08/22 5:00pm reply to

alexajew
Posts: 2
message
I actually just had lunch here and spoke to Chili and she told me the mustard is not vegan (it has mayo in it). So note to the wise, make sure to tell the cashier make your burger vegan (no cheese, no mustard and no butter on the bun).

Other than that, it definitely is one of the best burgers I've ever had.
carrie Posted at 2011/08/23 2:51pm reply to

carrie
Posts: 786
message
How odd that the mustard has mayo. I think I'll smuggle my condiments in. I am looking forward to this, as I am actually quite partial to a squishy patty.
festivalvegan Posted at 2012/01/20 1:41pm reply to

festivalvegan
Posts: 4
message
Well, I'm sorry to burst everyone's bubble including my own. But I went into hopdoddy today and I saw they had a new blackbean burger on special. I asked her if everything on it was vegan. She didn't know so she went and asked someone who I suspect was a supervisor or something above a manager. He informed me that the gluten-free and regular buns have eggs in them. He also informed me that the wheat buns are sprayed with an egg wash to allow the seeds on them to stick.

I have been a dozen other times and asked multiple times how to get a vegan burger and every time they said to just order the Joplin on a wheat bun with no mayo/mustard and cheese. I explained this to the supervisor guy and he said "well they shouldn't have told you that, they should've asked me"

Overall I am very disappointed and will be emailing the owner.
celeste Posted at 2012/01/21 12:10pm reply to

celeste
Posts: 40
message
    WTF?  Maybe they changed things up. That was more than 6 months ago that I spoke with that kitchen manager and she was really proud and said she had helped develop the recipes herself. I saw her several times after that and had less in-depth chats with her, but she always said things that maintained that there was a vegan option at Hopdoddy's.
    Anyway, I'm bummed. Not because I want to eat at Hopdoddy's (I think I only ever actually ate the Janis once), but because businesses seem to have such a hard time ascertaining if their food can be vegan, What's so freakin' hard about it? Jeez.
jen Posted at 2012/01/23 8:03pm reply to

jen
Posts: 1075
message
i emailed them recently because i received a gift card for christmas and this was the response i got:

Chuck Smith chucksmith.us@gmail.com
Jan 10 (13 days ago)

to me
The patty is vegan, buns are made with egg.

Sent from my iPhone


On Jan 10, 2012, at 12:57 PM, Jen Bush <jen.b.bush@gmail.com> wrote:

Hello,

Can you tell me if your veggie burger is vegan?  If not, do you have any vegan options?

Thanks!
Jen
Kristen Posted at 2012/01/24 1:47am reply to

Kristen
Posts: 849
message
so lame.
Jessica. Posted at 2012/01/24 12:17pm reply to

Jessica.
Posts: 446
message
>so lame.

agreed.

They will let you get a salad with the Janis patty on top, I've done that before. Just an idea to use up your gift card, Jen.
jen Posted at 2012/01/28 3:42pm reply to

jen
Posts: 1075
message
thanks jess!  that's actually a really good idea.  so, when i was checking them out on yelp (or something like yelp) there was a complaint someone posted about them leaving bone in their hamburger and he kept getting pieces of the bone in his mouth and i think he said he even threw up...after reading that i haven't had much motivation to go there...
mollyjade Posted at 2012/05/01 9:55am reply to

mollyjade
Posts: 447
message
A new hopdoddy opened in my part of town, and I emailed to ask what was vegan. I was expecting the same answer Jen got. I just wanted them to know there's a demand for vegan food.

I got a response from the same guy saying the bun and burger are both vegan. Which was confusing.

So I went in to talk to someone in person. There are three buns, white, wheat, and "non-gluten". The white and non-gluten both have eggs in them; the wheat does not. The wheat is what comes standard with the Janis Joplin. They told me if I order the Janis Joplin minus cheese and the honey mustard sauce (which contains mayo), that it will come out vegan. I was very specific asking about egg wash. Who knows?
UTexasMark Posted at 2012/05/01 10:36am reply to

UTexasMark
Posts: 378
message
My coworkers went there for lunch and I ordered the Janis Joplin.  I wasn't super impressed (the hemp patty is a bit bland to me, though the sprouts and toppings were great), but I did notice that it came on a different bun than everyone else got.  I told them not to use the honey mustard and cheese so I'm thinking they gave me the wheat bun to try to be vegan, but I can't tell you if it is or not.

On the plus side I just learned that you can get vegan bread at Easy Tiger (a bar at 6th and I35).  They showed me their ingredients list yesterday and all their fresh baked breads are vegan.  Their pretzels and pastries are not.
Jamey Posted at 2012/11/13 7:14pm reply to

Jamey
Posts: 4
message
So they just opened one in Dallas. Manager here insists the wheat bun and black bean patty is vegan. With this previous comment thread I'm still unsure, but at least it's one more vote for "yes." The manager said they actually were told about vegan/non vegan when they were opening up.
mollyjade Posted at 2012/11/15 5:04pm reply to

mollyjade
Posts: 447
message
The black bean burger is new. I've also heard it's vegan.
Post a comment
0 users logged in: