Forums
back to main | back to forum | view rules
Dog Almighty NOT Vegan Grahams
apryl_knight Posted at 2010/11/09 10:30am reply to

apryl_knight
Posts: 14
message
Not Wes Posted at 2010/11/09 10:56am reply to

Not Wes
Posts: 611
message
Email sent. The responsibility is on the seller to provide accurate info. It's not on the customer ordering something marketed as vegan to "for sure ask". Also, she is assuming everyone consuming vegan products are vegan themselves. It's important to give the correct info & let the customer make an informed choice. Not just for vegans, but for customers in general.

p.s. Nabisco Original (red box) doesn't contain honey, if you are still lamenting.
UTexasMark Posted at 2010/11/09 11:13am reply to

UTexasMark
Posts: 378
message
That's the worst response to a vegan inquiry I've ever seen.  Not only to admit it's wrongly labeled, but to say many vegans wear leather so it's okay that I do this and I'm going to continue to label it wrong.

What an ass.
apryl_knight Posted at 2010/11/09 4:27pm reply to

apryl_knight
Posts: 14
message
Not Wes - the Nabisco grahams have been pointed out to me as being vegan (though I think it's a bit odd that I haven't noticed them available at most stores - perhaps I should look a little bit closer!)  The Health Valley grahams are vegan as well, though a bit on the small side, and healthy to boot - http://www.veganstore.com/417.html - and I've seen them locally from time to time (I think Sprouts has them now).  Grateful Grahams look like they might be a good alternative as well, though they're only online as far as I can tell - http://www.veganstore.com/569q------original.html .  You'd think that the owner of Dog Almighty (or whomever it is who makes the chocolate covered graham crackers) could just use the Nabisco or the Health Valley crackers instead.  I'm thinking about getting a list together (though it may just include those three brands) to send to her, in hopes that she might possibly consider a change.  It's not sounding hopeful, though, based on their track record.
Not Wes Posted at 2010/11/09 4:54pm reply to

Not Wes
Posts: 611
message
I find the Nabiscos at Fiesta, on a lower shelf. I think they still have HFCS & hydrogenated oil, so they aren't the healthiest option. I mentioned them in my email & got a quick response. Hopefully, they decide to make it vegan rather than switching the sign or, worse, continue misrepresenting.
apryl_knight Posted at 2010/11/09 5:50pm reply to

apryl_knight
Posts: 14
message
Thanks, Not Wes!  Could you forward her response to me at apryl_knight at knightimecreations dot com?  I'm keeping documentation on this on my blog - http://thetravelingaustinvegan.blogspot.com/ .
fletcherism Posted at 2010/11/09 9:36pm reply to

fletcherism
Posts: 103
message
That's really disappointing. Dog Almighty is one of my two favorite restaurants in this town- the other being Conan's, which came off the list when I went vegan, but went back on when they introduced their vegan pizza last month! Jenny's been really friendly to me personally, she supports the VNA with her membership and newsletter advertising, and up until this year she's been really active with the chili cook-off.

But the last time I was there, she offered me a chocolate graham, telling me it was vegan, and I did not ask about the honey content. I'm not super-strict about honey consumption (yet), so that doesn't bother me as much as her statement that she won't change the sign. She could achieve the same result by labeling the grahams as "dairy-free and egg-free". Honey-eating "vegans" would know right away they could eat them, and honey-free vegans would know right away they could not.
carrie Posted at 2010/11/15 6:51pm reply to

carrie
Posts: 786
message
That is disappointing and odd. I've talked to that lady before and she is super nice, so I am really surprised about the obstinate tone of that e-mail. If nothing else she could just write that they contain honey on the sign. It's just such an odd response for someone in customer service.
apryl_knight Posted at 2010/11/15 7:57pm reply to

apryl_knight
Posts: 14
message
Carrie, I've talked to her in the past as well, and she always seemed quite nice and well-informed.  I've posted another update on my blog - http://thetravelingaustinvegan.blogspot.com/2010/11/update-on-dog-almighty.html .  I have now been informed that Jenny has now replaced the sign with one that reads "Honey Vegan".
Craig? Posted at 2010/11/18 1:28pm reply to

Craig?
Posts: 1796
message
they should label it beegan, and confuse the hell outta everyone.
karen Posted at 2010/11/22 12:18am reply to

karen
Posts: 333
message
>p.s. Nabisco Original (red box) doesn't contain honey, if you are still lamenting.

I typically find these at HEB; both Hancock center and way way up north on Wells Branch.
Michaela Posted at 2010/11/22 8:28am reply to

Michaela
Posts: 7
message
I am very disappointed in her response to the inquiry. This is why I myself am actually discouraged to ask questions about whether or not an item is vegan. I find more often than not that people either don't know enough about the product and veganism to answer my question, or I receive a rude response.  I can't believe that all she had to say was yes or no to the question, but she proceeded to try and judge vegan views. Whether or not an item is vegan has nothing to do with what a real "vegan" is or how lax other vegans are. Often products are labeled for allergens, and although very rare.... there ARE honey allergies. SO much for no "health danger or any risk in how they are labeled."

Okay, rant over....you know what really grinds my gears??? awesome
Post a comment
0 users logged in: